--life is wonderful--
3:37 pm & Oct. 16, 2005

Now for a really long, but abbreviated update:

Berlin was fantastic. We shopped, ate, drank, toured, meandered, everything you can possibly imagine. Our last day there we took a tour with Gabriel again to Potsdam. Potsdam has to be one of the most beautiful places on earth, if only because it was designed to be. I also fell in love with Gabriel and we eloped to Italy. No, not really, but all the girls were swooning over his British cheekiness and dorky attire. Anyway, that night we went to this club called H2O which was built under the tracks of the bahn. It had a fantastic atmosphere and I enjoyed myself.

Then I left with Ashley and Will to fly to Pisa, Italy. From the Pisa airport, we took a bus to go to Florence where we stayed in this incredibly rustic and funky smelling hostel. I loved it. Anyway, the next morning we go to the laundromat and I have my wallet stolen. That is right. My wallet was taken from my purse not in some crafty manner in a square where there are a million people... but it was taken from my purse in a slightly crowded laundromat as I was washing my underwear. :: sigh ::

Anyway, we discover that no police stations are open on Sunday in Italy but we walk around Florence which has a completely different beauty of its own. I can't begin to describe it -- really, it was breathtaking every turn of the corner. One day, I will return.

Then we are off to Rome where I see a million ruins and I wish I had paid more attention in my Latin class. Then we spend two days at this beautiful beach, Sperlonga, which is an hour and a half train ride from Rome. Once again, Italy amazes me with its beauty. The best part is that it wasn't a very populated beach when we went. It is obvious that the beach is a resort area but apparently not in October, which was grand. I want to have my honeymoon at that tiny town on the cliffs.

And here I am now. My last day in Rome. I haven't really begun yet even listing the things I have seen or experienced. I didn't even mention the opera in Berlin or the Roman Forum or the Spanish Steps that Audrey Hepburn visited in Roman Hliday. Oh well.

All I can say is that I love Italy. Sure, Italians don't really have traffic laws and I have been almost run over more than once... and Florence took my wallet. But that stuff is kinda funny in retrospect so I can forgive it. I leave tomorrow morning and I really regret that. Italy is just so beautiful. I haven't regretted a second here and I surely will return.

previous & next