--never ran away for the sake of scars--
4:51 am & Nov. 12, 2005

Yesterday was the beginning of the Karneval season: Elfte, Elfte. Shall I describe the absolute chaos this city witnessed? Costumed drunks, people vomiting on sidewalks, couples making out hardcore on corners, men pissing on the sides of buildings, groups of people walking around with mini kegs, etc. etc. etc. It was about 50,000 people crammed into the Heumarkt and Alter Markt, neither of which are extraordinarily large. The Heumarkt had a huge stage erected in the center of the plaza which constantly had some band play until about 9ish at night. Lots of food and beer vendors made business yesterday.

The streets were a nightmare; people threw their bottles and trash on the ground while the homeless hurriedly snatched unbroken bottles to be recycled. This beautiful city strongly reminded me of Amsterdam and it saddened me a little. I pity the crew who has to clean it.

I made it sound like I didn't have a good time. I had a great time. I had bought my beer a day before and stuffed it inside my bookbag (thus I wouldn't be scammed by the overpriced kolsch being sold yesterday). I was lent a pirate costume and Amy and I spent most of the time in the drunken masses, singing and drinking. I wish I could count how many times exactly I was groped by men AND women... but I can't.

So, yeah, it was nuts.

On a completely different note, I made it into the Berlin summit in December. That's right, folks, I'm going back to Berlin. Whooooo!!!!!

previous & next