--there'll be borders--
1:03 pm & Sept. 02, 2005

So I finally made it to a computer with internet access. First of all, the keyboard is a bit weird, so there may be typos. Secondly, my luggage got held back in London and I still don't have it, which saddens me greatly. However, I was smart and had packed some change of clothes in my carryon... but it's running out and I need some more!

My host mother is a single mother and she says she is very liberal. I'm not sure if she meant liberal for a German or liberal by American standards. I veered away from politics though because it just doesn't seem like a good idea to talk about money and poverty and middle-class on the first day I meet her. I just met her yesterday after arriving Wednesday and then spending the night at the youth hostel.

K�ln is absolutely marvelous, but it is not without a show of 5 million people in a small area. There is graffiti and trash on the sidewalk in some areas. People who do have cars have itty bitty cars and those don't have cars, either ride the 'streetcars' or ride their bikes. By the way, don't walk on the bike paths... you're just asking to be run over.

I live in an apartment and have my own room and tv.

And I have to cut this short. The little German kids need the computer lab.

Ciao.

previous & next