--i'm just scared to know the ending--
11:40 pm & Jul. 24, 2005

This summer has probably been a very maturing summer so far. Let's recap some, shall we? I broke up with Dwight, I've reconciled with my parents, I've worked three jobs, got back in touch with some old friends, I'm dealing with some serious issues concerning Ryan, and, most importantly, I have to say good bye to Lauren.

Lauren, she has been such a base for me since elementary school. Yeah, we haven't always had the closest of friends (with her going to an entirely different high school) and I don't think we always approved of each other's life decisions. But the fact remains that she has always been there when I needed to vent something. Like a true friend, Lauren has also believed in me 100% when I could not.

On Tuesday, she will be leaving for the Navy. That's six years of her life she's giving away!! Of course, the opportunities she will be exposed to will more than compensate for her dedication... but, she's not taking the path I always thought she would. She's a genius and I always thought she'd fly through college in an eye blink. Nope, she's taking a completely different route from me.

I realize that I never took full advantage of the moments I could have to seevisit her. But hindsight is 20/20 and I see that now. Oh well. I love Lauren and I really hope for the best for her! I just hope that she will be as proud of me as I am proud of her...

previous & next