--can't smash up that beautiful face--
12:12 pm & Nov. 06, 2005

Last night was Lange Nacht with all the museums staying open until 3 am. I saw some crazy amazing artwortk and then just some weird spots of the city. Because Amy was so smart to let me, the one who can't speak German that well, choose where to go... we ended up in this building where all the sub-culture crackpots hang out. Let me tell you, I am no bohemian and I stuck out like a sore thumb. However the building is not usually open to public so it's nice to know we saw something that not everyone sees.

We also got to return to the Cologne Philaharmonie and they performed Mozart's Requiem and, naturlich, it was amazing. I think it was my favorite performance yet.

Last night just really showed me how much of the city I have yet to explore. Every time I begin to think that I know this city, I find a nook that leads down streets and neighborhoods to explore. Luckily, Cologne is a lot warmer than Harrisburg, so there is a lot more time to walk around. The only sad part is that daylight ends around 5-6ish and it rains usually in the morning or late evening. All my exporing has to be done after classes.

I have been thinking about home a lot as of late. Lives aren't static and don't stop just because you leave. I know my parents have done some work on the house in my absence and my sister says she has been working on our room... my house won't be the same when I return. Just the thought of having to catch up to speed on everything when I return feels a bit daunting. Like TKD, I haven't gone since the summer... I'm going to be so far behind everyone!

Adam can't come this weekend to Cologne. I was kind of sad about that, but so much was going on that it may not have been the best time. I hope to see before I leave though. It's be nice to see someone from the same town as I.

previous & next