--death comes not around here--
10:36 am & Jun. 15, 2005

I guess I should talk about the girl, Kristen Troxel, who died last Sunday. Although she went to LVC, I did not know her. I read her facebook profile and she seemed like I would have gotten along with her. The truth is, I can't say I'm sad about her death (regretful, but not sad) -- I didn't know her! It sucks that she was so close to the beginning of her adult life...

Katie is at a funeral today as well. Her Aunt Gladys died recently, but she was really old so there isn't that much regret there.

I'm probably coming off as heartless right about now. I've mentioned this long ago when a classmate died back in 10th grade (again, someone I didn't know personally) -- but no one that I have cared about has ever died. The closest is my paternal grandfather and I was too young to understand what was happening.

I'm lucky in that respect, I guess. I really don't understand the feeling of such finite loss.

previous & next